ORAS PU 四畳半神話大系 [The Tatami Galaxy]

false

maybe this is heaven
is a Tournament Directoris a Forum Moderatoris a Top Dedicated Tournament Hostis a Top Tutor Alumnusis a Team Rater Alumnusis a Battle Simulator Admin Alumnusis a Social Media Contributor Alumnusis a Community Leader Alumnusis a Community Contributor Alumnusis a Smogon Discord Contributor Alumnusis a Tiering Contributor Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnusis a Smogon Media Contributor Alumnusis a defending SPL Championis a defending SCL Champion

"There is no such thing as that rose-coloured campus life. Why? Because there is nothing rose-coloured in the world. Everything is all a bunch of colours mixed up, you see" - 私

Hey everyone. I'm relatively new to PU, only picking it up in May of this year. I've slowly come to love PU as a tier and a community over my time here, improving leaps and bounds as a player over that same span. With ORAS winding up, I thought I'd showcase one of the first builds that I created utilizing the famous Muk + Trapinch core. The core has slowly grown to become more and more popular as the metagame has progressed, gaining initial exposure after I managed to win the first PU Open using teams almost exclusively from this archetype. I used a slightly edited version of this team when facing PDC in the PU Open Finals. Muk + Trapinch has seen countless evolutions since that time, but I thought it'd be nice to throwback to one of the original builds that started this all off.

Muk + Trapinch is obviously the basis of this team, a basic sweeper + trapper core that utilizes Trapinch's ability to reliably trap a variety of Steel-, Ground-, and Psychic-types to support Curse Muk as a win condition.

Zebstrika was the first addition, benefitting from Trapinch's ability to trap and remove a variety of Ground-types as well as Chinchou. Zebstrika is a great catch-all when facing most offensive teams, whilst also comprising some surprising defensive utility thanks to Lightning Rod.