Public Speaking

I couldn't find a thread about public speaking after quick search, so I'm making it myself.

I've left the topic a little vague to encourage discussion about whatever form of public speaking you find relevant. Have to do an oral presentation for school/work? Have a horror story about a time you spoke in front of people and failed miserably? Were/are you involved in a debating or public speaking competition at school? Talk about it! I'd love to hear about everyone's experiences.

I'm now in my final year at school, and I'm the informal debating captain (there's a Public Speaking and Debating Captain, but no one in our year level does Public Speaking AND Debating, and the Public Speaking leader got the big job), but I haven't always had a good time debating. I used to go 3rd speaker - the one where you do a whole lot of summarising and countering the oppositions arguments on the spot.

This particular incident occurred in year 9 at an inter-school debating competition. The topic was something along the lines of 'using animals for lab tests is cruel and unnecessary', and to say we were going in under prepared would be an understatement. On top of that, we were going up against effectively our rival school, in the same way that Gary is Ash's rival - they tend to beat us in everything, and we're super salty about it.

As it turned out, there'd been a mix up between our 1st and 2nd speakers, and they basically spent 5 minutes raising the same argument each. On top of that, our opposition had managed to fill out their time quite nicely with just 1 argument each. Effectively, I had no material, and rather than adapt and make shit up on the spot I ended up saying 1 minute worth of content split over about 4 minutes.

We lost, and it wasn't close. I've taken 1st speaker ever since, but to be honest I think I'm better at it anyway.

Now, go talk about anything and everything you find relevant!