Smogon Simple Questions & Suggestions Thread

Greetings from New Zealand ^~^
Hopefully this is the correct place to post this question.

I am new to Pokemon battles and am interested in learning how competitive battling works so I can battle well. I haven't been on a Forum since Windows XP. I am very interested in tiers and building teams. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
^~^

https://www.smogon.com/articles/getting-started

This article is a bit outdated iirc but I found it to be a nice intro.
The main tiers on Smogon are decided by usage. It goes OU (highest) -> UU -> RU -> NU -> PU, with Ubers being the OU ban list. Little Cup, Monotype, Anything Goes etc are special formats.
Team Building is not my forte but the guide I linked does have a primer on roles. You can find the viability rankings, speed tiers, and other team building resources on the sub forum for a specific tier, along with the metagame discussion and simple question threads.
And make sure to sign up at play.pokemonshowdown.com to play matches!

You’re welcome ^_^ feel free to PM me if you need clarification. Personally, I’ve been really into Little Cup lately (I’ll be playing in the LC Open XIII ^_^)

Hi, I'm a long time lurker, for the first time I finally created an account because I want to participate in Volcarona's suspect test, but this is the first time I'd try to do that and I'm not sure how to do it.

Do I just need to register on Showdown with the name "OUWW ____" and try to ladder, or do I need to anounce somewhere that I intend to participate on it? (I'm asking because it would suck if I somehow managed to get the points but forgot to do something beforehand and therefore cannot vote)

(that is of course considering I will de able to do it haha but I'd like to try)

Thanks in advance

Lasen

smiling through it all