Do You Guys Buy Your Games...

...or do you just download them? I just realized that the majority of my friends download their games as ROMs. I've never done this before, which makes me feel like I've wasted a LOT of money. But is it good ROMing games like Pokemon which have an online feature?

Eraddd

One Pixel
is a Community Leader Alumnusis a Smogon Media Contributor Alumnus
If it's worth it.

For one thing, games like Modern Warefare 2 or the really really old zelda games are not worth buying simply because of MP issues or others, or if no one plays em anymore, or if the company doesn't sell em

Games like Battlefield, oh hell yes I buy.

Absolutely not. I've come to the realization that I haven't played most of any RPGs outside of Pokemon and all of them are available as a ROM somewhere.

If there're great games available for free, I hesitate to pay $50-60 for the latest and greatest. After all, I could have bought another computer that runs said games better with 10 games paid for.

While downloading games saves you a ton of money, you're not paying the company that makes the games. I'll download games that I don't like if my friends play them and want me to try it, but for games like Pokemon, Anything by Square, and EA Sports games, I buy them so that they continue to make more. Unrelated note, it's the same with music for me. I buy from artists I like and download from ones I don't like as much. I want the ones I like to continue making good things while the ones I don't care about....well, I don't care about.

For the games worth paying for but are illegally downloaded, it should be considered that said downloader would at least boast the game's enjoyability through the inenret. Otherwise, fuck em.

Yeah getting stuff for free is great until the people making games cannot afford to make them anymore because of piracy. I don't download any games unless they are vaporware, which is no longer supported and you are unable to buy it.