How much $ would it cost to create a competitive MTG deck?

I haven't played TCG's for a long, long time. I kinda want to get into MTG, but I'm aware that it's pretty expensive. I don't know whether this question has an answer, but can anyone give me an estimate on the cost to create a decently competitive MTG deck?

Depends on the deck, obviously, but I think you can expect most competitive decks to hit about $300 US, and it increases with the way recent players all seem to think every deck needs the same few cards (e.g. Tarmogoyf, now Baneslayer, the Planeswalkers, etc.)

As a MTG player for 8-years now, I've seen this question fly by many, many times. Magic has changed over the years since I was a kid playing. It became less of a "help me, I'm a beginner" type of game into "if you cant learn it, just leave it" type of game. Or if you cant afford it, then also leave it.

The thing about your question is that it's hard to give you one simple answer. So many sets (I think 4 sets come out a year now?) come out every year, meaning new cards, and new deck types to play. Most decks competitively nowadays are basically the same, much like how Pokemon battling is in OU -- you see a lot of the same stuff. Though, it is true, as the person above has stated that a decent competitive deck will cost you around $300. Though, the price can vary as well, and it can get near to $500 or it can be around $150 - $200.