Insert Creative Team Name Here

Hey there everyone. I'm GigaBreaker88, and this is my first attempt at creating a strong competitive team. I've researched some of how this works, and have been a fan of the series since childhood, so I do have a pretty good idea of how things work, but I never decided to do competitive until recently. I put this team together based on trying to get good coverage and some variety so that I wouldn't simply have 6 sweepers like I used to in game. I feel as though it is a bit weak to certain Pokemon, specifically Talonflame, who manages to sweep most of my team before ding to Brave Bird recoil, but aside from that I have had success in the sim (Pokemon Showdown) with this setup. Any corrections would be very helpful. (In game I do not breed for IVs and natures, but I do of course use optimal IVs and Natures on the sim.)

Yokodera (Alakazam) @ Life Orb
Ability: Magic Guard
EVs: 4 HP / 252 SAtk / 252 Spd
Timid Nature
- Psyshock
- Focus Blast
- Calm Mind
- Dazzling Gleam

I decided on using an Alakazam on my team for a few reasons. Firstly, I have tended to use one whenever possible due to knowing it is a strong special sweeper capable of holding its own against many different Pokemon and types, providing decent coverage and damage to most teams. I use Dazzling Gleam over Shadow Ball primarily to cover the lack of super effective moves I have against Dragon types, and Psychock over Psychic to deal with certain special walls such as Tentacruel and in a somewhat rarer line, Gyrados. Focus Blast is obviously to deal with Dark types that Dazzling Gleam might not kill, especially Tyranitar.

Horrortress (Forretress) @ Leftovers
Ability: Sturdy
EVs: 252 HP / 4 Atk / 252 Def
Relaxed Nature
IVs: 0 Spd
- Rapid Spin
- Stealth Rock
- Volt Switch
- Gyro Ball