Old-School Patience: Pure Stall

I started playing on the ladder a couple of months ago after I told my roommate that I would sit down and try to create the lamest team possible. It’s been a few weeks of experimentation and switching Pokemon in and out, but I finally managed to crank out a stall team that hasn’t lost for a while, bar a few matches where crits ran like water (which totally destroys stall teams).

So here’s where I started: with one of my favorite Pokemon in Generation III. I really wanted to make her work, even though she’s barely viable in NU and RU.

Since this was going to be stall, I knew that Gardevoir had to be specially defensive. So I brought in a physical wall as well. I also knew I wanted a Steel-type with Roar and Stealth Rock on the team, so another favorite came in, this time from Gen II...

With two low-tier Pokemon on the team, I needed another Pokemon who could take hits and heal up Steelix, as well as erase status. There was only one real choice for this.

Hmm. Two Bug-weak Pokemon and two Fighting-weak Pokemon? Defenses needed to be shored up. I added a spiker and a spinblocker whose typings helped out a lot.

And finally, I brought in a Pokemon who fit the stall theme really well with its bulky offense, status absorption, and hazard immunity, as well as one that had been a favorite of mine from Generation I.

I tried this team out for numerous battles. Unfortunately, there was one Pokemon that wasn’t holding its weight very much, and it was the spiker. I found quickly that Qwilfish was getting torn apart too quickly without reliable recovery and low defenses (even Intimidate wasn’t helping), and I needed to fix that. I decided to drop the Spikes and go with another one of my favorite Pokemon who could actually endure hits.